My lucky number

The number two is my lucky number. It’s the number I always pick when someone says, “Pick a number.” Well, I picked two again! I was well aware when I got pregnant that I would have a toddler and a newborn at the same time. Terrible two’s and a newborn baby that doesn’t sleep for more than a two hour stretch at night. Two kids within two years. I am so blessed.

But wow, this is hard too. Actually, I’ve been taking on this change pretty well. My husband on the other hand has hoped his toddler hit him hard enough in the goods this time to stop us from adding more children to our family. We have to have a sense of humor about this small circus otherwise we’d really lose it. Never in my younger life would I have thought I would have two littles, let alone less than two years apart. My young self said, “I’m on the ten year plan.” when talk about kids came up. Then one day your feelings change and you can’t stop. Gosh, a baby’s face is something I could look at forever. I told my husband, “this just cannot be the last time I look into a sweet face like this.” He replied with, “Oh yes it will be!” As he wrangled our two year old towards the potty. Yes, now I only know how to use words like “potty”, “poopy”, and “booty”. Yet, I need to spell other words to keep my toddler out of the loop. Oh, and I must watch every single word I say so it isn’t repeated in the quietest part of the sermon on Sunday.

Also this is only the beginning. Once we decided to become parents over two years ago we also realized it would be more than eighteen years before this most interesting part of our lives would sink back into a quiet two some routine. By the way, eighteen years would be the absolute minimum. If that last punch in the man goods didn’t make my husband sterile there’s still a chance he may weaken once he gets more than two hours of sleep a night.

Life is so interesting. I wouldn’t have it any other way. All the parents of grown children always say that their favorite time was when the kids were small. Maybe not quite as small mine, but once you can take them places and go on adventures. When I was a kid we use to park hop on weekends which was super fun. Someday soon I want to park hop and create other fond memories with my two children. We will have to see how long my lucky number is only two.

Children are a heritage from the Lord , offspring a reward from him.
Psalm 127:3 NIV

What is your lucky number?

Leave a comment